Sprue Aegis plc named National Champion in European Business Awards

Coventry-based Sprue Aegis plc has been named as a National Champion in The European Business Awards sponsored by RSM International; a prestigious competition supported by business leaders, academics, media and political representatives from across Europe.

The European Business Awards, now in its 8th year, engaged with over 24,000 businesses from 33 European countries this year and 709 companies from across Europe have been named today as National Champions; going through to the second phase of the competition.

Sprue was formed in 1998 as a start-up with the ambition to build a world-class consumer safety products business focused on the smoke alarm market.

With a commitment to developing innovative products that would change consumers’ perception of smoke alarms by providing technologically advanced and aesthetically pleasing alternatives, Sprue has grown rapidly since 1998 to become one of Europe’s leading home safety products suppliers.

Managing Director, Nick Rutter, commented: “We’re very proud to be selected to represent the UK as a National Champion. To compete alongside the best businesses in the country is a great honour. The European Business Awards is widely recognised as the showcase for Europe’s most dynamic companies and we are now looking forward to the next round of the judging process where we can explain in more depth how we are achieving business success.”

Adrian Tripp, CEO of the European Business Awards said: “Congratulations to Sprue Aegis, it is a great achievement to be named National Champion and we wish them luck in the next stage. The European Business Awards is going from strength to strength, inspiring businesses to greater success and helping to improve the competitive edge of companies across Europe.”

A panel of judges made up of Europe-wide business leaders, academics and entrepreneurs will view the National Champions’ videos, and award the best of this group the coveted ‘Ruban d’Honneur’ status.

Ruban d’Honneur recipients will then go on to the grand final in 2015. All of the National Champions will also take part in a public vote to decide ‘Public Champions’ for each country. Last year over 93,000 votes were cast, and over 400,000 people visited the EBA website during the competition.


You might also like